Nominations/Applications Open for the Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award

On April 24th, 2018 the Inuit Art Foundation (IAF) announced that we are now accepting nominations of established Inuit artists for the 2018 Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award (KAMA).

Established in 2014 to honour the life and work of the late Kenojuak Ashevak, CC, ON, RCA (1927–2013), the award is a biennial prize, created to support an established Inuit artist to attend a residency or a self-directed project with another professional artist, institution or organization within Canada.

Value: up to $10,000

Deadline: Monday May 21, 2018

Duration of Project: 1-week minimum duration of residency or knowledge exchange to a maximum of six months.

Start Date of Project: Anytime within a year following the notification of successful receipt of the KAMA.

The Inuit Art Foundation is inviting nominations from professional acquaintances including curators, gallerists, writers, critics, fellow artists and others in support of an established Inuit artist. Individual artists may also self-nominate if they wish to do so. All KAMA applications will be assessed by an external jury of arts professionals.

Eligibility will not be tied to pre-existing acceptance into a residency program. The IAF has compiled a shortlist of potential residency options, but applicants are not limited to these options and are free to propose their own projects and partners. Applications should clearly outline the initial scope for the project as well as a desired location, the potential benefits of that specific residency/organization/artist for the completion of the project and also the feasibility and impact of the project.


Click here for all application and eligibility information.

For all questions and inquiries email us at 


This award is made possible through the generous donations of the IAF’s integral donors, for more information and to learn how to be involved please visit our website.

Kenojuak Ashevak, Red Fox, 2012