Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award

The Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award (KAMA) was established in 2014 and provides up to $10,000 biannually to an established Inuit artist in support of a self-directed residency. KAMA honours the memory of the late Kenojuak Ashevak, CC, ON, RCA (1927-2013) and her unparalleled contributions to the cultural life and arts of Inuit Nunangat and beyond. An exceptional artist, pioneer, role model and leader in her field, she was the recipient of numerous awards and accolades in recognition of her work.

Ashevak spoke often about the importance of encouraging future generations of Inuit artists, and the KAMA was created by the Inuit Art Foundation to continue this vital legacy. The inaugural KAMA was awarded to Iqaluit-based multidisciplinary artist Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory.

Learn about
Kenojuak Ashevak

Past Recipients

Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory 

How To Help

The KAMA is made possible by generous support of numerous donors, including founding donors John and Joyce Price and Erik Haites. All contributions to the award assist the IAF in carrying out its primary objective of engaging with Inuit artists and their work in order to advance the understanding and appreciation of Inuit art in Canada and beyond.

Honour the legacy of Kenojuak Ashevak by making a gift today.

Donate to the KAMA