• News

The Hnatyshyn Foundation's REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards

Apr 11, 2017
by IAQ

The Hnatyshyn Foundation announced today the laureates of the REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards at a ceremony in Ottawa. These one time awards were created to honour emerging and established Indigenous artists working in traditional and contemporary visual arts, media arts, film, fine craft, music, literature, storytelling, theatre and dance who have shown exceptional leadership in both their home communities and on the world stage.  The foundation has allocated $1.5 million in awards to 150 artists and each will receive $10,000 to "fuel the creation of new artistic works and leave a lasting cultural legacy." The Inuit Art Quarterly would like to congratulate the 17 Inuit artists selected as laureates: Susan Aglukark, Joe Jaw Ashoona, Shuvinai Ashoona, Nicole Camphaug, Beatrice Deer, Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay, Mark Igloliorte, Geronimo Inutiq, Michael Kusugak, Lindsay McIntyre, Andrew Qappik, Nicotye Samayualie, Tanya Tagaq, Lavinia Van Heuvelen, Isabella Rose Rowan-Weetaluktuk, Jennifer Williams and Laakkuluk Williamson-Bathory  on their awards. The selected artists represent the range and diversity of Inuit art today.

“I was really shocked to get recognized for doing something I love," stated performer and IAF Board Member Beatrice Deer at the time of the announcement.  "I don’t think about awards when I’m doing my work. I was shocked and really happy.” The artist intends to use the funds to purchase recording equipment, which will allow her to record her music on her own.

The laureates will gather for a special ceremony in Winnipeg, hosted by the Lieutenant Governor for the city on May 22, 2017 to receive their awards. Dignitaries, including National Chief Perry Bellegarde, Winnipeg Mayor Brian Bowman, and CEO of the Canada Council for the Arts Simon Brault will speak. Award-winning Métis photo-based artist Rosalie Favell will capture each of the laureates with black and white photography.

The laureates were selected by a jury of peers led by the Hnatyshyn Foundation chair, Victoria Henry and including visual artist Barry Ace, creative producer and programer Denise Bolduc, curator Christine Lalonde, poet, playright and author Daniel David Moses and composer and performer Florent Vollant. The regional breakdown of the 150 recipients selected by the jury includes 11 artists from the North, 40 from British Columbia, 26 from the prairies, 50 from Ontario, 18 from Quebec and 5 from the Maritime Provinces.

The REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards were made possible by many private donors and organizations. The full list of laureates can be seen here.

Suggested Reads

Related Artists