Watt Scholarship

The Watt Scholarship was established in 1995 and is awarded annually to four Inuit in Canada currently enrolled in a post-secondary institution with a demonstrated interest in art, history and culture. Each scholarship provides $2,500 to assist, support and encourage Inuit in their pursuit of post-secondary studies in Inuit art and culture.

How to Apply

To apply for the Watt Scholarship, please complete the award form outlining current post-secondary institution, name of supervisor, program of study, expected date of completion and scope of studies concerning Inuit art and culture. A notice of the award will be sent out to Canadian universities that offer programs in Inuit art and cultural studies, as well as Inuit cultural organizations.

Applications for the next award are accepted on a rolling basis with cutoff deadlines on February 1, August 1 and November 1 annually. For more information, please contact Program Officer, Kyle Aleekuk at kaleekuk [at] inuitartfoundation [dot] org.

Inuit Art Foundation Established in 1987
Indspire logo
Past Recipients

Damaris Nutarasungnik
Jukeepa Akpalialuk
Nakasuk Alariaq

Dylan Mablick
Nakasuk Alariaq

Lilly Parr

Niap (Nancy Saunders)

Beth Kotierk

Lindsey Moorhouse
Raigeleee Alorut

Heather Igloliorte

Jessica Tomic-Bagshaw

Jessica Tomic-Bagshaw