• Interviews

Watch the KAMA Winners Roundtable Conversation

Nov 23, 2023
by IAQ

Following Ningiukulu Teevee’s win of the 2023 Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award (KAMA), she sat down with 2021 winner Tarralik Duffy and 2019 winner Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory to discuss the impact of the award on their lives, and the lasting legacy of Kenojuak Ashevak on their careers. The conversation was moderated by Taqralik Partridge, Associate Curator, Indigenous Art - Inuit Art Focus, Art Gallery of Ontario. 

KAMA is a biennial prize that supports the practice of an Inuk artist by facilitating opportunities for artistic development and career growth. Established in 2014 by generous members of the Inuit art community, the award honours the life and work of the late Kenojuak Ashevak and her unparalleled contributions to the cultural life and arts of Inuit Nunangat and beyond. The award provides funding to artists to expand their careers and reach new audiences.


Suggested Reads

Related Artists